19 July 2014

United Nations Organizations (UNO) - UN History

United Nations Organizations - UN History

General Knowledge - United Nations Organizations (UNO) - UN History

The name “United Nations” coined by United States President Franklin D. Roosevelt, was first used in the “Declaration by United Nations” of 1 January, 1942, during the second world War, when representatives of 26 nations pledged their Governments to continue fighting together against the Axis Powers.
States first established international organization to cooperate on specific matters. The International Telecommunication Union was founded in 1865 as the international Telegraph Union, and the Universal Postal Union was established in 1974. Bother are now United Nations specialized agencies. In 1899, the International Peace Conference was held in the Hague to elaborate instruments for settling crises peacefully, preventing wars and codifying rules of warfare. It adopted the Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes and established the Permanent Court of Arbitration, which began work in 1902?
The forerunner of the United Nations was the league of Nations, an organization conceived in similar circumstances during the First World War, and established in 1919 under the Treaty of Versailles “to promote International cooperation and to achieve peace and security”. The International Labour Organization was also created under the Treaty of Versailles as an affiliated agency of the League. The League of Nations ceased its activities after failing to prevent the Second World War.
In 1945 representatives of 50 countries met in San Francisco at the United Nations Conference on International Organization to draw up the United Nations Charter. Those delegates deliberated on the basis of proposals worked out by the representatives of china, the Soviet Union, the United kingdom and the United States at Dumbarton Oaks, United States in August October 1944. The Charter was signed on 26 June 1945 by the representatives of the 50 countries. Poland, which was not represented at the conference, signed it later and became one of the original 51 Member states.
The United Nations officially came into existence on 24 October 1945, when the charter had been ratified by China, France, the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom, the United States and by a majority of other signatories, United Nations Day is celebrated on 24 October each year.
Ban Ki Moon of S. Korea is the eighth Secretary-General of the United Nations. Before becoming Secretary-General, Ban was a career diplomat in South Korea's Ministry of Foreign Affairs and in the United Nations. On October 13, 2006, he was elected to be the eighth Secretary-General by the United Nations General Assembly. On January 1 2007, he succeeded Kofi Annan, and passed several major reforms regarding peacekeeping and UN employment practices.
Kofi Anan (Ghana); Term of office: 1997-2006
Boutros Boutros Ghali (Egypt) Term of Office: 1992-1996
Cuellar (Peru) Term of Office: 1982-1991
Kurt Waldheim (Austria) Term of Office: 1972 – 1981
U Thant (Myanmar) Terms Office : 1961 - 1971
Dag Hammarskjold (Sweden) Term of Office: 1953-1961
(Norway) Term of Office: 1946-1952

No comments:

Post a Comment